Space Crew Remembrance

For those of you who live/work or will simply be in the Clear Lake Area this Thursday, I’d like to let you know about the following announcement.

FYI: The flyover will be between 10:01 & 10:05 on Thursday morning.

January 27, 2005 has been selected as a day of remembrance for the lost crewmembers of Apollo I, Challenger and Columbia. In addition, JSC team members are asked to take a moment to remember lost members of our extended NASA family.

Bells will toll 3 times in tribute to the NASA crews:

  • Apollo I – Gus Grissom, Ed White, Roger Chaffee (January 27,1967)
  • Challenger (STS-51L) – Francis Scobee, Michael J. Smith, Judith Resnik, Ellison Onizuka, Ronald McNair, Gregory Jarvis, Christa McAuliffe (January 28, 1986)
  • Columbia (STS-107) – Rick Husband, Willie McCool, Michael Anderson, Dave Brown, Laurel Clark, Kalpana Chawla, Ilan Ramon (February 1, 2001)
After a short moment of reflection, the ceremony will conclude with a T-38 flyover in missing man formation (weather permitting).

A Day of Remembrance event at NASA Headquarters will be televised live on NASA TV at 1p.m. central time. JSC team members are invited to view this program as well.

Comments are closed.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.